Understanding California DMV Points on your License
Hi this is John from Cheap Easy Fast dot com Traffic School with a some important California law for you about points on your license. The DMV keeps a public record of all your traffic convictions and collisions. Each occurrence stays on your record for 36 months, or longer, depending on the type of conviction. The Negligent Operator Treatment System is based on negligent operator points and consists of a computer generated series of warning letters and progressive sanctions against the driving privilege. You may be considered a negligent operator when your driving record shows one of the following "point count" totals:
4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months. Some examples of one point violations are Traffic convictions and at-fault collisions. Some examples of two point violations are reckless driving or hit-and-run driving, driving under the influence, and driving while driver license is suspended or revoked.